One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

Manta Rays


One of the creatures I always dreamed of seeing while diving is the manta ray.  I often thought about traveling to Yap where the island is “well known” for manta encounters.  I was therefore, very pleased when one of the dives during our trip to Komodo was at a site known as “Manta Point” or “Torolengkoy”   While our dive guide would not guarantee manta sightings, he was pretty confident that we would get to see some of these majestic animals.  These dives would make up for the very sparse Komodo Dragon encounters that we had on the island of Komodo…

Here are some of my manta photographs

Truly looks like stuff out of star trekFlight of the mantasPiloted MantaManta Triple Play

Truly looks like stuff out of star trek

August 30, 2009 - Posted by | Indonesia, Komodo, Manta Ray, photography, Underwater Photography

3 Comments »

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

    Comment by Tony Brown | September 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Cool pics dude. Those are really big manta rays. Must have some kind of courage to just go near them. Especially in the water.

    Cool.

    KATHY

    Comment by Kathy | February 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Well, Katy – the mantas were bigger than me, but not “gigantic.” The mantas in the Pacific are apparently larger, but I have never seen them. As for seeing them in the water, that is the only place I would want to be near one! They are beautiful animals, and completely harmless. They have no stinger and really the only way they might hurt you is if they bumped you – something they do not seem inclined to do. I am glad you enjoyed the pictures.

      Comment by davidscubadiver | February 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

