One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

Barack Obama and the Race Card


“John McCain and the Republicans, they don’t have any new ideas … the only strategy they’ve got in this election is to try to scare you about me. They’re going to try to say that I’m a risky guy, they’re going to try to say, ‘Well, you know, he’s got a funny name, and he doesn’t look like all the presidents on the dollar bills.’”

When I first read that Barack was playing the race card, my reaction was, “So what?”  But, that was because I thought he was simply using his race to appeal to voters. When I read the story, including the above quote, I thought it was a bit underhanded since it suggests actions by his opponent that have not been taken and which his opponent claims to have steered well clear.

Making accusations that people are “going” to do something is a dangerous game.  After all, if you had to pick one, which presidential candidate do you believe more likely to take the oath of office, have a change of heart, convert to Muslim, grow a beard and wear a turban?  Christian though he may be, he has an Arabic name and his father was a practicing  Muslim, now turned atheist.  Its not hard to imagine a change of faith where the son embraces Islam.

I don’t care what religion the President practices, so long as he respects those fundamental rights to which I’ve grown accustomed.  In other words, Islamic faith is okay by me, as long as its not radical and requiring the death of the infidels.  One thing I cannot abide is dishonesty or the appearance of dishonesty.  Its what makes me intolerant of politicians. Regardless of race. Regardless of gender. Regardless of religion.

This is One Diver’s Perspective.

August 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

