One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

My First Outing with the Nikon D300 Camera


Before spending thousands of dollars on underwater gear, I thought it would be prudent to shoot with my new camera on the surface and see how I liked it.  Fortunately, I was invited to a wedding this past weekend, and it let me put the camera through the paces.  Unfortunately, I was still too new to SLR photography to figure out how to tweak critical settings such as aperture and shutter speed.  I also lack an external flash at this time. Nevertheless, and for what it may be worth, I was impressed with the camera.  It is by no means magic (i.e., it does not let you shoot in low light on the dance floor, without a flash and get pictures that look well lit), but the 18-200mm lens that I purchased witht he camera had remarkable range, allowing for some excellent portrait shots and a decent telphoto shot (from my eye, I shot the church pipe organ, from the front of the church to the back of the church, on the balcony, and it was only when I “zoomed” in on the picture that I noticed the player was sitting up there behind the organ. I thought what I saw with my naked eye was a photograph of a head, but in the picture it was quite clear that there was a person up there).

Anyhow, while I may not be putting wedding photographers out of business just yet, I think I captured some very nice shots, burried in the hundreds of photographs taken.  I had fun shooting “high speed” which helped make sure that some pictures came out with eyes open rather than blinked closed.  I just learned how to set the aperture and shutter speed, so my next event that I attend I’ll see if I can be a bit more artistic.

May 20, 2008 - Posted by | photography

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

