One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

My Quest for Better Pictures Results in a Nikon D300 SLR Camera


It seemed to take a long time to choose a camera for my as of yet to be “developed” photography skills. After deciding to upgrade my point and shoot to a dSLR (digital single lens reflex) camera, I had to decide which dSLR to purchase. So I did what any modern day consumer does, and hit the internet. I soon found that there are many digital camera review sights and even more “forums” where you can discuss the pros and cons with happy and disgruntled shutterbugs.

In the end, I probably could not have gone wrong with any dSLR, but I nevertheless wound up “focusing” on the Nikon D300 for no other reason than that it made every reviewer who touched it, swoon with giddiness. I too wish to be giddy.  Sadly, I know next to nothing about SLR photography, and what I do know, I learned simply by reading in anticipation of buying such a camera. So, when my camera does arrive, I probably will be no more impressed than I would have been with a camera that cost half as much.

One thing I was repeatedly told, the camera does not make the picture, the photographer does. Hopefully, having invested so much in a camera, I will be inclined to learn how to use it and become a decent photographer. Of course, if I don’t find myself using it on a fairly regular basis, slowly improving my skills, I always have the option of returning it. This is the main benefit to purchasing goods at Costco – their generous 90 day return policy. I could have saved over $70.00 had I purchased it from my other favorite retailer, newegg.com, since they do not charge sales tax in New York. I would have had the camera faster from newegg.com as well. However, there, you can only exchange the camera for another of the same model. That would hardly be useful to me if I lack the desire and aptitude to use the camera and want to get a less expensive model.

I am under a bit of time pressure, however, as I am going to swim with the sharks in July – so I have to either use my point and shoot, or make the considerable investment in an underwater housing for the new camera. That basically means I have to quickly fall in love with the camera buy an appropriate lens for underwater, and then set out to house everything, if I want to have all my gear ready to go in July.

Hopefully, I am up for the challenge, and the result will be some awesome underwater photography that I can call my own, hang in my home and office, and share with the world.

April 29, 2008 - Posted by | scuba, Sharks | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Found you via the forums…

    You are absolutely right that whether you went for a Nikon or a Canon that either will offer great functionality in the hands of the competent person. The competence is something that can be learnt – lots of time reading, trying, playing and getting frustrated at the lack of quality. One day it will click and you’ll produce a fantastic photo.

    The quality of the shot will normally look disappointing when you’re “chimping” on the screen. If you haven’t got it already get Photoshop (purchase) or The Gimp (Free) and you can do wonders with your images.

    I will be adding you to my feed reader as I would love to see the images you produce and how they improve over time.

    How much is the waterproof housing?

    BTW – this might seem like a random comment, but I am a semi-pro photographer that loves helping others achieve whatever they can. If you have any questions that you think I can help with, just ask!

    Collin

    Comment by Collin | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Collin, thank you very much for the offer! I feel a lot of pressure now to get my camera and housing and pictures so that your live feed will show something useful! However, the soonest I’ll be going under water is July, so it will be a while. The camera has

    In answer to your question, the least expensive of the housings is $1,500. The next least expensive housing is $2,500. And these do not include the “domes” necessary if one wishes to take wide angle shots. Or the Ports necessary to take regular shots. Which dome or port you desire depends on which lens you are housing. Its a complicated and costly undertaking to say nothing of bulky and difficult to travel with.

    You can check out my website at http://www.divelove.zxq.net for some decent shots taken with a sony point and shoot — however, my flash was broken at the time so it was difficult to get anything super worthwhile.

    Comment by davidscubadiver | April 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

