One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

Sharkwater The Movie


For those of you who are afraid of sharks, and for those of you who love sharks, I cannot recommend highly enough, the award winning movie Sharkwater, directed by and starring, Rob Stewart.  You can watch the trailer or read about the film at Sharkwater.  Heck, if you wish to purchase the film on DVD and Blue-Ray, it can be ordered there as well.  There’s even a blog where you can write to the director.

If you have no feelings one way or another about sharks, then I also urge you to watch the movie. It covers some very important environmental issues. Destroy the shark. Destroy the oceans. The problem is very real, even if easily ignored. The least you can do is watch the movie. Even if you don’t want to do anything at all about the potential end of the world as we know it, you’ll enjoy the  movie. Its an adventure and an eye-opener, and who knows, maybe you’ll recommend it to somebody who is moved to do something to help save the planet. 

April 14, 2008 - Posted by | Sharks |

4 Comments »

  1. This movie would have been best served if Rob Stewart and his look-at-me-in-a-speedo antics had been thrown over board

    The evironmental and ecological issues are very real but distracted by the arrogant filmaker and his Michael Moore styled ambush interviews.

    Comment by mylesfromnowhere | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. Rob was 22 years old when he started the movie, and 27 when it was finished. Therefore, he was essentially a child tackling a problem of global proportions about which he was and is extremely passionate.

    While I do not recall being distracted by the manner in which he conducted the interviews, I do not doubt that they could have been more “dispassionate” and “disinterested.” However, I am not convinced that this would have made for a better movie (from an entertainment point of view, or from a documentary point of view). In any event, I believe that the huge number of awards and nominations that this film received, see http://www.sharkwater.com/awards.htm, suggests that there is room for disagreement over whether the film would have been best served by throwing its director and star overboard!

    Comment by davidscubadiver | April 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Sharkwater is a fantastic movie that finally shows someone doing what needs to be done, rather than just talking about what needs doing. In fact, most people do not even seem to be aware of the issue!
    I wish I could be as gutsy as Rob Stewart. I’m not the type of person that can drop everything for a cause. I try to get involved and help in other ways. I showed this movie to my students. Even as I watched it for the second time I was focused on the sharks and other creaturs being killed by our greed and stupidity. I did not feel that Rob (in speedo or in a wetsuit) was himself the focus of the movie! The issues were. My students asked “why is money so important”, “what if we didn’t have money?”, and “why are they doing that?” Good questions. I only hope its not too late, and that they will not grow up in a world without sharks.

    Comment by Colleen | April 19, 2008 | Reply

  4. I just watched the movie and I absolutely love it. It definitely brings a huge impact for people like me, who knows nuts about ocean conservation.

    Thumbs up!

    Comment by ilovedonut | April 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

