One Diver’s Perspective.

Scuba, Photography and Scandal

My Blendtec Blender


So, I have been spending a bit of time trying to decide whether to buy a juicer (Super Angel 5500 vs. Omega 8004 or 8006) or a blender.  Sure, they do very different things, and I will probably wind up with both at the end of the day … but as of today I have pulled the trigger on a Blendtec blender (available at Costco.com for a pretty good price, with two jars for a “limited time”) and then I went ahead (before taking delivery) and ordered the “Twister” jar, which is supposed to be great for making nut butters (on sale at Blendtec.com if you use the promotion code, in all caps, TWISTER) to save $30.

I should be receiving both this week. My wife will probably kill me when she sees that this damned thing comes with 3 “jars” — what the hell do I need 3 freaking jars for!?  I can hear it now.

The truth is, I have no idea. I just felt like buying something to make healthy food and a blender seemed like it was easier to use than a masticating juicer, both in terms of use and cleanup.  There are downsides, of course. And for me, one downside is going to be the noise. I hate loud appliances, and will probably spend another $100 on a noise shield if I use the “wildside” or “fourside” jars a lot (the Twister jar requires access to the top so you can “twist” the lid while blending, so it won’t work with a noise shield). 

I may use one jar for grinding grains… I really like the idea of buying brown rice, turning it into flour and then making pancakes with it.  I also like the idea of making some baby foods as well as green smoothies and strawberry banana sorbets.  The practice may be completely different. We shall see. 

I chose Blendtec over Vitamix, for several reasons, some of which may not be valid.

First, to my ear listening to them on You-Tube, the Vitamix sounded louder. Reviews say otherwise. Maybe it is pitch instead of volume, but to my ear the Vitamix sounded louder.  Indeed, I looked into buying “The Quiet One” which is the Vitamix brand in use at Starbucks.  But I am pretty sure I need a special electrical outlet to use the commercial product, plus the warranty is not as good for consumer use, so I didn’t want to spend so much more on a blender with a less favorable warranty, even if it would be very quiet (in comparison).

Second, if I don’t need a sharp blade at the bottom of my blender, I prefer not to have one. If I ever cut myself by doing something stupid while cleaning out peanut butter, I would be kicking myself to no end, saying “why didn’t I get the Blendtec with its dull blade!”

Third, even though the presets may not be all that great, I like the idea of a “smoothie” button, a “sauce” button and a “soup button”.  I understand some vitamix models have the presets as well, but they were not being sold by Costco.com, and quite honestly, I am not spending this much on a blender without having complete comfort that I can return it whenever I want.  If I don’t like the thing, or find that I don’t use it, it is going back to Costco.   I’ll wind up with a “twister jar” that I spent $100, which I will sell on E-bay if necessary. 

I don’t care so much which product works “better” than the other, or which product is “better for me” — at least I don’t care enough to buy both even with Costco’s generous return policy. The Blendtec was less expensive, looks better and seems more idiot proof. Plus, i have some old Apple products that I may want to blend.  (That’s a joke).

I have not been diving in a long time … and so maybe, just maybe,  this blog will change direction….again.

May 6, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

1 Comment »

  1. My Blendtec Total Blender arrived yesterday, and I used it twice to make “green smoothies.” Let me start off by stating that I never made a green smoothie in our existing blender, so I can’t compare how the expensive appliance compares to the ordinarily priced appliance in the smoothie department.

    First drink — Kale, Banana, Strawberries, a cup of water and a few ice cubes. Our son, at 2-1/2 years old, drank a couple of ounces and seemed to like it (though he would not drink the rest of it later in the day). Since he is a rather finicky eater, subsisting on peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, bananas, greek yogurt, grapes and pistachios, I took this as a good sign! My wife loved it, and I thought it was quite good myself. Previously, I have only had kale cooked or seasoned with something (not sure which, it just came that way from the restaurant), but I read that it makes a good smoothie. The drink was refreshing, fairly light and tasted pretty good to me.

    At the end of the day, I made a second drink — 2 kiwis, a small banana, and a cup of strawberries. I blended most of the skins of the kiwis and did not bother to hull the strawberries (about 4 small and two large, if I recall, is all that fit in the measuring cup and that is all I used). Also added a cup of water and a few ice cubes. I forgot to add the kale until half way through the blending cycle when I was wondering why it was such a pretty non-green color, and then realized the greens were still in the sink. I stopped the cycle by pressing a button, threw in the greens and started the “smoothie” cycle over again. So, this drink was blended for more than the standard smoothie cycle, unlike the first drink.

    Colleen loved this smoothie. I thought it tasted too strongly of kiwi and then my tong was bothering me for the next hour or so. I may have had an allergic reaction to the kiwi, but I’ll reserve judgment until I eat another one, perhaps without the skin. Again, the drink tasted of fruit and not of vegetable. I could certainly feel particles in this drink, so I knew I was drinking more than juice, but it was not at all unpleasant. Just a little too sweet for my tastes.

    Cleanup was a breeze…rinse the jug, add a cup of warm water and a tiny tiny drop of dishwashing soap and blend for 7 seconds. Pitcher fills with soapy water, pour out and rinse the pitcher and lid off. Easy.

    More importantly, the motor was not so loud as to make me wish I bought a quieter model and not so loud as to make me consider buying the sound shield that another manufacturer makes. And, of course, we were able to eat a bunch of kale, which I tasted raw before the second drink and thought it to be quite vile, so it is one green I would never, in a million years, eat raw but which blends up very very nicely with some fruit.

    We have some dandelion greens to try this evening. I think i will blend with some apple and another kiwi, since we have a lot of those in the fridge as Colleen did an excellent job buying fruits and veggies as soon as the blender arrived. This is really a great, easy and tasty way to get more raw veggies in our diet. It is fairly convenient, too.

    Comment by davidscubadiver | May 10, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

